Wednesday, 10 March 2010

"Heartache on the Dancefloor"

Considering the sheer ear-time Deadboy has been getting from HEDMUK over the past couple of months, it's shocking that we haven't featured the young London producer until now. For Deadboy, the 2-step garage scene of the early noughties was cut short in its prime, never reaching its full creative potential - and we couldn't agree more. Deadboy's first release (Well Rounded Records, October 2009), included 'Brock Lee Riddim', a 2-step inspired track which blends eerie, unintelligible vocals with a shoulder shuffling beat and, interestingly, a funky bassline. The tear-jerking, mangled vocals of 'Heartbreaker', a real melancholic stepper of a tune, as well as the soon-to-be-UK-Funky-anthem, 'U Cheated', not only affirm Deadboy's talent for producing fresh, organic tunes, but also his judgement; he's right, "everyone can relate to a little heartache on the dancefloor".

With a FACT mix already under his belt, a forthcoming release on Numbers (NMBRS0LTD), and bookings at FWD and Hit&Run (on the 2nd of this coming May), Deadboy is certainly one to watch.

For now, check out his mix for Un Bongo:

1. Ramadanman – Revenue (Untold remix)
2. Julio Bashmore – Um Bongo’s Revenge (Deadboy remix)
3. El-B – Amazon
4. Rice & Peas – Soundboy
5. L-Vis 1990 – United Groove
6. Tactic – Badmans Roor
7. Lil Silva – Pulse X Funky
8. Deadboy – If U Want Me
9. B15 Project – Girls Like Us (Artful Dodger remix)
10. Zomby – Digital Flora
11. Zed Bias – Neighbourhood (Roska remix)
12. Martin Kemp – No Charisma
13. D-Malice – My Joy refix
14. Brackles – Lizards
15. Dexplicit – Hot Girls
16. Slaughter Mob – L’Amou

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...